Project Optimism: Life, Love, and My New Niece

I had to wait until tonight to post this, but it’s a doozy. Today, after waiting 40 weeks and 4 days, my lovely niece Little Miss H, or Buster, joined the rest of us out here in the world. I have to say that this was probably one of the longest and most anxiety-ridden days of my life. Being so far away and relying on snippets of information via text every few hours and quick conversations with my mom in the waiting room, was hard. Even after I had a photo and knew they were both fine, I didn’t really exhale until I spoke to her on the phone and knew that they were both really ok.

By all accounts my sister was an absolute rockstar! I knew she would be. She’s one of the most amazing people I know. Things may not have gone as expected and were definitely harder than anticipated, but she powered through it all and gave birth to a 9lb 8oz, 22in long ball of beautiful! 

Now the magic begins. I get a whole new person in my life to love and get to know and help grow. My heart gets to expand once more to welcome another child into my family, minus the sleepless nights. (Sweet!) I finally get to buy all those lacy-butt tights and sweet little dresses and sparkles and ribbons and, well, you get the idea. My boys have a little cousin. Declan is already in love. He spent ten minutes tonight with my phone in his hands, looking at her pictures, saying “baby” with a huge smile on his face. 

But best of all, my sister, my best friend, gets to be a mom. She and her husband get to be a family all their own and they get to feel that love. They’re going to get to figure out how to do things their way and learn more about themselves than they thought there was to know. My sister and I get to go through this amazing, wonderful, difficult, heart-wrenching, exhausting, soul-changing thing called motherhood together. I know the beginning isn’t easy, I think I remember that, but it’s just the beginning and it only gets better and better.

Image

You should join in on the happiness. Here’s how:

  1. Write about something that makes you feel optimistic. Whatever it is, write from your heart.
  2. Post on MONDAYS. Include “Project Optimism” in your title.
  3. Grab a badge by going to your dashboard and clicking the “IMAGE” widget. Adjust pic size 200h x 200w. The image URL: (http://mommiesarejustbiglittlegirls.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/project-optimism.jpg)
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Encourage the person who linked up before you. Kindness is contagious!
4 responses

  1. Yes! The pinnacle of optimism–a new life. Congratulations auntie! I’m sure you’re looking forward to loving on your baby niece. And like you said, you won’t be the one having sleepless nights. But, I’m sure you’ll be there to support and guide your sister the entire way through! :)

    • Thanks! The husband and I are leaving tomorrow to go meet her! I can’t wait. I’m hoping I can help her out as much as I can. Although it’s only been a little while, I swear I forget so much about newborns ;)

Leave a Reply

