Project Optimism: I Almost Missed It

I nearly forgot to post my optimism today. I’m coming at ya from the beatiful and sunny cold and snowy Pittsburgh, PA this week. We’re on “spring break” and came down for a few days so the boys could meet their adorable new cousin. So far Brady wants to touch her more than he should and Declan is ambivalent. I’m still in awe though, so it’s ok.

I’m not gonna lie, it’s been a tough trip. I do not recommend traveling alone with a 19-month-old and a 5-year-old. At leat not if they’re my kids. Brady has been a whiny mess, starting with going through security at LaGuardia. Declan is mostly fine, but he’s a toddler and likes to take things apart and spread crumbs and run away. Ugh. They’ve needed constant attention pretty much all the time since we left and it has been exhausting.

But today I took the boys with me to visit one of my oldest friends and her baby twin girls. She held one and I held the other as my boys played with her dog and their toys and I realized, I almost missed it. Yes it is frustrating and exhausting and draining and Brady and I have been fighting in a ridiculous way, but I get to hold my baby niece and talk to my sister in person and watch my mom read books to Declan and Brady read books to my mom and hold one of my friend’s twins as she falls asleep and that makes it all ok.

Sometimes things are difficult, but I can’t let that make them worthless. I can’t let anxiety take over and tell me that I need to shut down when the going gets tough. I need to hold onto the good moments – Brady holding his baby cousin and telling her how cute she is, Declan running to the door as my mom comes in saying “Grandma, Grandma, Grandma” – and realize that those are the reaons I will make it through the whining and the sibling fights and the not-ideal sleep, and all the rest.

Image

You should join in on the happiness. Here’s how:

  1. Write about something that makes you feel optimistic. Whatever it is, write from your heart.
  2. Post on MONDAYS. Include “Project Optimism” in your title.
  3. Grab a badge by going to your dashboard and clicking the “IMAGE” widget. Adjust pic size 200h x 200w. The image URL: (http://mommiesarejustbiglittlegirls.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/project-optimism.jpg)
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Encourage the person who linked up before you. Kindness is contagious!
3 thoughts on “Project Optimism: I Almost Missed It

  1. You know, this is all fine and dandy, but where are all the photos of these adorable kiddos? Couldn’t you have held a camera in hand, while holding babies and reading books? I’m disappointed in you! ;-) Glad you’re enjoying your visit!

Leave a Reply

