Project Optimism: First Grade

Brady started first grade today. Overall it was great. I can’t believe he’s old enough to be in first grade. He looked so grown up as he tied his shoes before we left this morning. He was brave going into the new classroom with his new teacher. Happily, he has a few good friends in his class so he wasn’t totally out of his element. He kissed me goodbye and didn’t protest when it was time for me to leave.

I was kind of a mess all day. The last few weeks I got used to having him with me all the time and I spent the day feeling like I was forgetting something everywhere I went. I was nervous about whether or not he would like his new teacher or the new kids in his class or if I would like the new parents I’ll be interacting with.

He wasn’t my only boy with a first day today. The husband started a new job and had orientation today. It’s a good change because he won’t have the evil, out-to-Jersey, unpredictable commute from Hell anymore. That’s not the only way it’s good of course, but it’s a big one. He was out early and made it in time to pick Brady up.

We also had first soccer today after school. Yes, today was a doozy. I was so worried Brady would be too tired or grumpy or annoyed after school to do anything else, but it was honestly wonderful. He ran around the field with a huge smile on his face the entire time. I couldn’t believe it.

So today was a good day. A day of firsts. But I am exhausted so I think I’ll go find my glass of wine, a tv show, and the couch.

3 responses

    • Wow! Thanks for asking. Brady’s first day went really well. He wasn’t as talkative as usual, but he gave me some details. He was happy to see two of his friends who spent the summer in Europe with their families. My husband was actually fascinated with orientation. He learned a lot about his new company. I’ll head over to your blog to answer a questions now.

Leave a Reply

