The Kid

I guess I’ll start with the kid since I wouldn’t be writing this blog without him. His name is Brady and as of this week he’s 8 months old.

Here he is when he was first born.

I think he looked like a squished little bird. But he quickly filled out (and his nose straightened), he grew chubby thighs, got rubber-bands around his wrists, and he became the giant hulk-like baby that I have today.

Here he is the other day trying out toys as headwear.

I have to say that I wasn’t a big fan of newborndom. Newborns are cute to look at, but they don’t do much other than sleep, poop, and make strange little noises. Oh and need you to hold them – ALL the time. But for the last few months Brady has gotten more and more fun each day. Now he sits and plays by himself, gives me disgusting drool kisses, babbles his crazy Brady language, and generally entertains me most of the time.

In this blog I’m planning to provide a glimpse into the oh-so-exciting life of a stay-at-home mom in NYC. I used to spend my days appeasing grouchy professors and needy sales reps in the high-class world of academic publishing and now Brady and I do a lot of walking (well, he gets pushed), run errands, and swing on the swings and I’m hoping to present it all as much more interesting than it actually is.

One response

  1. He’s a cutie-patootie! I love the tone of your blog – it’s very engaging. Even though I’m not a mom, I can definitely relate to your experiences of living in NYC…

Leave a Reply

