Kids’ music is just creepy

The husband, the kid, and I went to a kids’ concert at SummerStage in Central Park on Sunday. We stayed for oh about 3 minutes. It was just too creepy. I have always – even as a child – found dressed-up characters frightening. Cookie Monster came to my second birthday party and (I’m told) I was terrified. Even though my mother showed me that it was my aunt dressed up, I still didn’t like it. To this day, I just don’t like those costumed characters or clowns…especially clowns.

When we got there a band of costumed freaks was playing to a crowd of delighted children and slightly buzzed parents. The event planners had the foresight to serve wine and beer at the concession stands. I was shocked at first and said something to my husband who replied “um, Dan, I would definitely have to be drinking to sit through an afternoon of this.” Too true.

Since Brady is too young to care yet, we jetted out of there. These costumes were just too much for me. Jabba the Hut was playing drums, and the rest of the band members had huge costume heads with normal human bodies. Ewwww.

And yet those kids were going nuts for it. I suppose I’m going to have to get over this before Brady is old enough to love it. Or maybe I can teach him to be afraid like my mother did to me. Hmmmm, I’ll have to think about this.

Leave a Reply

