It Toddles

dscn16261

I'm walking!!!

While Brady took his first independent steps a few weeks ago, he hadn’t really taken to walking until a few days ago. Until then, he still felt that crawling was really the only way to get anyplace. Then on Sunday he just suddenly decided that walking was a viable means of going place to place. We have yet to capture this on camera so the pictures here are from Halloween night. (More liony goodness!)

Brady walking is one of the most hilarious things I have ever seen. We call him FrankenBrady because he sticks his arms out in front of him and swings his legs without bending his knees. It’s truly awesome!

dscn1625

Oops!

I suppose this means that my baby is not really a baby anymore – but a toddler. The term “toddler” awakens all kinds of fears in me. It gives me visions of temper tantrums in the middle of clothing stores and pizza being thrown on the floor of restaurants. But so far, in reality, it’s been pretty cool. I now spend my days with a person who can actually (sort of) communicate with me. That’s better than anything I can imagine right now.

And to think, a year ago today I was waddling around with about as much balance as my son has now. (Actually I never really waddled, but I was clumsy!) A year ago I was stressing over having everything ready for baby, finding him a name, what labor would be like, would I get all my work done before leave, would I go past my due date. Today everything in my life is different – some great, and some not-so-great. But I can honestly say that I wouldn’t want to imagine my life without this little man!

One response

  1. Congratulations. I love this stage where everything is new and exciting.

    I’ve written a book about temper tantrums and how to prevent them, stop them, and live with them. Tantrums tend to start when a child has a vocabulary of 100-200 words which just is not specific enough to express exactly what’s wanted. Such frustration is understandable.

    Let me know if you’d like to review a copy of “Temper Tantrum Common Sense Handbook” as a PDF (it’s an e-book).

    Best wishes

Leave a Reply

