Hello 2009!

dscn0105

Happy New Year folks!

So my first full year as a mother has come to a close. In a few weeks it will be one year since I officially resigned from my job and also my 30th birthday. At the very least, this gives me a lot to think about.

Overall, I’d say 2008 was a very good year for our family. It started out rocky. I had some postpartum issues which were tough on all of us and it really clouded the first few months of Brady’s life for me. But thankfully we came through it and now I honestly couldn’t be happier with my role as mom. Not that I have it all figured out – far from it.

Naps are still a hellish routine repeated daily, but with a good night’s sleep most days it’s much easier to take. I’m still struggling with whether or not I want to put my foot down and wean the boy or let him self-wean. But he’s sharing our meals and interested in all kinds of foods. He even loves lima beans and adores plantains. I feel hectic and overwhelmed a lot of the time and still need to work on balance. But the money coming in from my freelance work is much-appreciated and it gives me a sense of purpose outside of wife and mother.

I’m going  into 2009 with a positive outlook. I’m confident that we’ll figure out where we’re going as a family and we’ll be able to work together to get there.

Happy New Year everybody!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

