I like the inbetween

I’ve been attempting to do freelance work since I officially resigned from my former position over a year ago. It’s been ok, but until recently I never took on a whole project, only bits and pieces where I could get them.

In September I got an email from someone I used to work for asking me to pick up a project for him. It was really perfect for me since I had worked on the previous edition of the book and get along really well with the whole book team. So I agreed. After some delays the work finally started up in mid-January and it’s been going really well.

I quickly realized that I would never be able to do it all from home. Even with my mother-in-law there it’s hard to get much done since Brady doesn’t realize I’m working and can’t play with him. Plus I don’t have a good printer, no copier, no fax machine, etc. So I’ve been going into the office one day a week…and I LOVE it!

I get to get out of the apartment, ride on the subway, see my friends, get work done – real work done, and basically become a part of non-baby civilization for one day. I only go in from about 11-3:30 and yet it’s more than enough time. It reminds that I would’t want to be working fulltime again and yet fulfills all those things I was missing. All this and I only have to be away from my little man for 4.5 hours. It’s honestly ideal.

And to sweeten the deal, I’m making us some extra money. I’m working about 6 hours a week which seems like nothing, but it does make a difference. It amazes me that such a small change – just 6 hours a week is making such a huge difference in my life. This project runs through May and I’ve already got some more work lined up. Maybe I’ll go crazy and pick up another in-office day, who knows?

I missed you Mommy! (He's hugging my leg, in case you can't tell)

I missed you Mommy! (He's hugging my leg, in case you can't tell)

One of the benefits that I really didn’t expect was missing Brady. I know that sounds odd, but when you spend basically 24-7 with a person – even  if you grew that person in your  own body – you start to get tired of them. My few hours away from Brady make me appreciate those that I have with him even more and I just adore seeing his smiling face running toward me when I come in the door!

2 responses

  1. That’s wonderful. I have heard it can be very hard to find meaningful part time work but it sounds as though you have been able to do it. I’ve never freelanced myself, is it hard to keep up with networking while home full time? I’m bad at it now and I work full time!

  2. Fortunately, I work in publishing. There is so much work to freelance out in publishing. I also had a job where I had my hand in all aspects of the business, so I have a lot of areas that I know really well.
    As for networking, once you have a baby, all of your colleagues wants baby photos and updates. It’s honestly a great way to keep up connections. I had to hustle a bit to get the work though. I would bring Brady into the office and talk with everyone about what they needed.

Leave a Reply

