A trip to the burgh

Brady and I try to go to Pittsburgh to visit my mom and sister at least every few months. This past weekend we got to bring Daddy along with us. It was a short trip, but a fun one. We got to celebrate Grandma and Aunt Von’s birthday on the 2nd and then went to one of the most fun places ever…Kennywood!

Hello Kennywood cowboy

Hello Kennywood cowboy

Kennywood is an amusement park near Pittsburgh. Nearly everyone ends up working for them at some point in high school. I worked at their water park down the road, Sandcastle. My sister worked there. One of my best friends met her husband working there. It just rules!

Brady had a blast there and I got to ride 2 rollercoasters. Something I hadn’t done in years. After going to Kennywood at least once a summer, every summer, my whole life it had been 9 years since I had gone. And watching my little boy’s delight as he rode the kiddie turtles was worth every second I had been away.  It was amazing!

On the 4th we cooked out at my aunt’s house and then on Sunday we headed home again. It was really tough to say goodbye to my mom and sister. Brady was so in love with them while we visited and really remembered them this time.

Each time I go home to visit I’m stuck with conflicting emotions. I think of how nice it would be to be able to just drive over to my mom’s and have dinner with her. I think how nice it would be to have a yard, and a car, and more than 2 rooms, to be able to go to the community pool. But I also think of how much I love hanging out in Central Park and walking everywhere and being able to get anything I want or need at any time of the day or night.

Most of all I miss my family and having Brady makes that feeling even more acute because he has to miss them too.

2 responses

  1. Yes, I miss the geographical closeness of family too. It is especially driven home because one of my sisters lives a few towns over from my parents and gets help from them all the time. True, she has twins but still! But I do love Charlotte and it would be hard to move, especially to afford a house in Mass. It will be especially hard this year because we are going up for a vacation in August but not for Christmas. Just too much of a whirlwind then…

  2. Luckily we live near my in-laws. My mil comes over to watch Brady on Tues and Thurs while I work which is awesome. Plus we have free babysitting that I don’t have to worry about.
    In a way though it makes it even harder to be far from my family because Brady sees this side ALL the time and my side so infrequently.
    I hear Charlotte is awesome and really great for families too. Here the biggest issue is cost of living. We’re quickly outgrowing this apartment and getting something bigger would be really tough. Buying something around here is pretty much out of the question.

Leave a Reply

