Vampire child!

But he looks so sweet...

But he looks so sweet...

So I’ve been debating on whether or not to post about this. I have to admit that I can’t get over being a little ashamed of it. But considering the agony that it’s caused me and knowing that it is a stage that a lot of kids go through, I figured I’d put it out there and hopefully give some other parent some peace of mind.

Brady has developed a little biting problem. He’s never been very agressive, although it’s always been fairly easy for him to dominate other kids because he’s pretty big and strong for his age. But I never, ever expected to see this kind of behavior from him.

We were at the infamous train sets from my previous post. (I am convinced that they were cursed by a child-hating witch before being set up!) Brady was playing nicely and I was watching. I saw him grab a little girl’s arm and press his face into it. She ran off to her dad and I thought nothing of it. Brady has a tendency to hug and kiss kids at random. But I overheard this little girl telling her father that a little boy had bitten her, so I kept a very close eye on him.

I watched very closely and diffused any possible train-fight situations for the next 15 minutes or so. He and a little girl around his age were pushing their trains next to each other and hers got stuck to his. She went to pull it off and he flipped. He grabbed her by the sides of her head and bit her forehead!!! I couldn’t believe it!  I grabbed him up and said no, apologized tto the little’s girl’s father while looking to make sure that he hadn’t broken the skin and rushed out of there.

I threw him in the stroller and left the store. Outside I knelt down to him and told him that biting, hitting, and kicking other people is never ok and that we left because he bit the little girl and it hurt her and made her sad.

I doubt that he got it, but at the very least he didn’t get the train he wanted out of the situation and didn’t even get to play anymore.

I’ve been watching him like a hawk and he has attempted it a few more times. Fortunately, I’ve been able to stop him each time. Despite being reassured by many other parents – including my own mother – and reading on just about every parent website that this is normal and a lot of kids do it, it’s still really upsetting. It was like watching my precious angel turn into a monster right in front of my eyes.

I’m really hoping that he outgrows this quickly. I’m being careful that he does not get whatever it is that he wants from the child he tries to bite. Ffor now I guess I’ve just got to be his shadow while he plays with other kids. I just hope he doesn’t become that boy that bites on the playground!

One response

  1. Danielle, my first two kids were “biting victims”, always bitten by the biters in the class. I was righteously indignant, until Ally came around and SHE became the biter. Now I was the mom apologizing to the other parents of the kids she had bitten. Bitter irony.

Leave a Reply

