It’s coming…

Living in the city has been taking it’s toll on me recently. In addition to the near-constant sound of jackhammers from the street right in front of our building, there’s the fact that I don’t have enough room in my apartment to have a small birthday party for my son with a few of our friends. It’s frustrating. Now add to that the fact that the never-ending, very controversial 2nd Avenue Subway construction is coming to our section of 2nd Avenue and I’m ready to go screaming for the hills!

The 2nd Ave subway will eventually  be a good thing – don’t get me wrong. Having only one subway line to accommodate the entire East Side is sort of ridiculous and I’ve been the victim when that line goes down and it sucks! However, I’m not so sure that the construction of another subway line is a good alternative. I’ve seen the devastation it’s caused in the areas already hit. The construction takes years for a span of a few blocks, during which time businesses are essentially killed. The sidewalks are so narrow that the stroller won’t fit and people (including me) are unwilling to contend with the hassle to get to their favorite places. Restaurants that once had sidewalk cafes, now have indoor spaces filled with the racket of drilling. It is a nightmare.

We saw the markings on the sidewalks a few weeks ago and we shuddered knowing it was coming and coming soon. The other day a friend came by to walk to the park with us and had me walk out to 2nd Ave first. All of the trees have been cut down. My walk out there this morning brought the sight of bulldozers, concrete barriers, and men in bright yellow vests.

There used to be a tree here

There used to be a tree here

Doesn't the neighborhood look lovely?

Doesn't the neighborhood look lovely?

If I felt that the MTA were in any way competent, that we would see a 2nd Ave line before say 2020, or that they were doing this construction in the most efficient and responsible matter, maybe it wouldn’t bother me so much. But I don’t feel that any of those things are true and so it does bother me – it bothers me a lot!

I guess we’ll just have to make an effort to combat the construction enough to keep our favorite places open and hope it won’t take too long and that it won’t be too loud. Either that, or move further west!

It definitely feels like the perfect time to run away to Europe! We’re leaving on Tuesday and spending 5 days in Vicenza, Italy for my sister-in-law’s wedding, where Brady will get to meet his great-aunt and uncles and all of his cousins! Then we’re flying to Paris for 5 days where I’m really not sure what I’m going to do with an almost 2-year-old boy.  At least I get to see the Eiffel Tower! Wish me luck!

Yay more concrete barriers!

Yay more concrete barriers!

One response

Leave a Reply

