WAHM

This week I’ve been a work-at-home mom…and I’ve HATED it! Like I’ve said before, I really have an ideal situation where I get a bit of both worlds. I work sometimes and I stay home sometimes and nary the two shall meet (for the most part, I definitely work on my at-home days, but not like this). Until this week. My mother-in-law had to be home while her upstairs is being painted. Normally this wouldn’t be a big deal. I like having the odd bunch of time to myself with my little pickle.

But, I committed to a pretty heavy duty project that is in the thick of things right now. It doesn’t go away just because I have no childcare this week. It just keeps going and going. Trying to get actual work done with a two-year-old in a one bedroom apartment is an act of futility.

I’ve mostly been working every second he’s otherwise occupied (and right now I’m taking a break to write this before I lose my mind). I work while he plays on the playground or colors or watches a show. I work while he naps and after he goes to sleep. I work while he concentrates on eating a popsicle. I work as he pulls on my hand saying “Mommy, get down. Get down off your chair. Get down now and COME WITH ME!!!”

I know some people love this kind of life – the kind where you don’t get one second to yourself and work constantly – but I am not one of them. I like some downtime. And when a good majority of your work is tending to a small child you really and truly need it. Kids are EXHAUSTING! At least my kid is.

In this liberated, feminated world we live in with choices of all kinds I have definitely found my least favorite option – working from home with no childcare and a toddler! It sucks!

At least I got hang out with this cute face all week!

One response

  1. I work form home also. I know the kind of weeks you are talking about. Normally I can get my work done during his nap, but sometimes work gets so crazy it’s consumes my day. I really get upset when I can’t take him to his play groups or music class because of this. Especially when all I’m doing is sitting around waiting for my boss to read my email and give me a yes or no answer.

Leave a Reply

