Terrible, terrible

Terrible twos! And if you want to tell me that three is worse, kindly keep your mouth shut. In the midst of this, the last thing I need to hear is that there is something more awful looming on the horizon.

Maybe it’s the potty training. Maybe it’s the oppressive, never-ending, soul-sucking heat and humidity of this summer. Maybe it’s just the age. Heck, maybe it’s me! But the Brady and I have been fighting like cats and dogs for the last week or two and I am SO over it!

A lot of our fights are pee based. When he resists my suggestions that he needs to go, he says to me, “Mommy, do you wanna fight about this pee situation?” Which is totally hilarious and also very frustrating. He would love to choose to just stop peeing altogether, which I have told him time and time again is just not an option. Instead he likes to throw a tantrum for 10 minutes, then run away, and then come back to me, ever so sweetly to say “Mommy, I think I need to pee now.”

We had a serious battle in the bathroom at Barnes and Noble today. I thought someone was going to call security to come in after us! But it’s not just peeing. Lately it seems like everything causes a huge fight: going to the playground, leaving the playground, what to eat, eating at all, playing games on the computer, watching tv, taking a bath. You name it, we’ve had a fight about in the last few days, I swear.

These are the times when I feel like maybe I just wasn’t cut out to be a mother. Where is that well of calm serenity that moms who decide to have 5 draw from? Do they just have better kids than me? I feel worn out, drained of patience, fed up, and just plain exhausted. Lately I seem only to see the moms having lovey-dovey days with their kids, happily floating through life, and I feel blind to the other moms with frowns on their faces, shouting at their kids as they run away through the playground.

This too shall pass, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and all that. Life will go on and get better and probably get worse. Right now, I’m just super psyched that it’s Friday and I get to go at this with a partner for two days. Woohoo for the weekend!

5 responses

  1. This is really weird. My son wasn’t like this. Your sister and cousins weren’t like this. None of my friends’ kids were like this. I’ve only heard of one other kid like this ever, and that was you. Something is seriously wrong. Get him into therapy right away. You too. And probably Eric just to be safe.

  2. I had the same thing happen throughout his late twos. I stop for a second and I can’t believe I’m fighting with a 2 year old, but it keeps happening anyway. He just turned 3 a few weeks ago. Here’s hoping for some improvement.

  3. Have you thought about given Brady more choices? I’ve heard that this is the age where they do NOT want to be told what to do. So perhaps giving him more choices (what toy to pull out, what to wear, what to eat, etc.) would help? Let me know if it works out…I’m sure I’ll need it in the next year with Cameron!

  4. Dan, I hope 3 is better. You’ll have to let me know!

    The choices thing definitely helps with most things. Unfortunately, Brady doesn’t care if he gets to pick his clothes, his shoes, his lunch, where we go, and what we do if he doesn’t get to choose not to pee. Most of the time I just wait him out. He WILL NOT have an accident. He waits till the last minute, gets a drop of pee on his underpants, freaks and runs to the potty. It’s only a problem when we need to be somewhere. If we need to be at swim class at 10 we have to leave the apartment. To avoid a flip out on the way over, he HAS to pee before we leave. He’ll get it. I know he will. I just hope he gets it before September when he’ll have to be at school 2 mornings a week. That’ll be fun. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

