An Exercise in Insanity

Definition: Having an almost-9-month-old and a 4-and-a-half-year-old and trying to do ANYTHING! (Excuse me if those hyphens are wrong, my brain isn’t exactly in tip-top shape here. Also, yes I care about those hyphens, people pay me to edit text!)

Lately my life goes like this.

– Attempt to empty the dishwasher.
– Notice the baby is chewing on one of the husband’s flip-flops.
– Take flip-flop away from baby, clean dirt from baby’s mouth.
– Attempt to empty the dishwasher.
– Hear 4-year-old say “Mommy, can I have some juice? I’m very, very thirsty and I really, REALLY want some juice.”
– Pour juice and deliver it to 4-year-old.
– Attempt to empty dishwasher.
– Notice that baby has gotten ahold of 3 tiny Lego pieces.
– Remove Lego pieces from baby’s hands and mouth.
– Reprimand 4-year-old for leaving out Legos.
– Attempt to empty dishwasher.

Get it? This plays out over and over again throughout the day with making breakfast, brushing my teeth, getting dressed, going to the bathroom, etc, etc, etc. Of course some of these times I put the baby in the jumper or his crib and occasionally he sleeps (thank the Lord). But since Declan became mobile, life has become harder. I’m very thankful that Brady adores tattling on him and usually tells me if he’s into something he shouldn’t be. Baby-proofing was much easier with Brady because there weren’t any people with tiny toys in our apartment, our apartment was smaller, and Brady seriously just didn’t get into very much. He wasn’t like that. He also didn’t put everything in his mouth. I would never find him joyfully munching on a shoe that is used for going out on our disgustingly dusty terrace, covered in black muck.

I’m working today (as much as possible) and really I’m just very thankful that my mother-in-law is on baby-chasing duty for a bit. Whew.

Stopping for just a moment to munch a toy.

2 responses

  1. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all.
    However just imagine if you added some great photos or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!

    Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this site could definitely be one of the
    very best in its niche. Good blog!

    • Thanks so much for this comment! I’m going to try to incorporate more images. I’m just a basic wordpress blog, so I can’t embed video, but I can link to it. I really appreciate the feedback.

Leave a Reply

