21st Century Electronic Media Slave

That’s me! Our Internet service at home has been out since Friday and it is driving me crazy!! This is especially pathetic because I have an iPhone so I actually still have the Internet just not in my preferred format. I’m waiting for the tech to get here and I’m like a junkie waiting for her dealer so she can get her fix.

I’ll relate this to family, just wait for it. I already see signs of this media slavery in Brady. He often complains that he doesn’t know what to do if he can’t watch a show. Lately his pretend games are movies or shows that he is creating, complete with theme music and invented commercials. We recently got an Xbox so he has also been inventing games that he plays in his imagination.

I’m not sure if I should be concerned about his preoccupation or proud that he takes what he sees and plays and expands on it so creatively. I think it’s certainly inevitable that he is growing up in an age where so much of his life will revolve around these things so in my mind it can’t be all bad. Only time will tell. One thing is for sure, we have got to find a way to limit media exposure in the unstructured summer months!

20120521-135626.jpg

Will they be 21st Century digital boys?

Leave a Reply

