First Day Jitters

My stomach was turning, my palms were sweaty, and my heart was beating out of my chest…and all I had to do was drop him off. Brady started kindergarten on Thursday. He is no longer my little baby and instead is a full-fledged school kid.

My guy, all ready for school!

The week or so leading up to this day were filled with anxiety for me. At first I couldn’t exactly pinpoint why. I mean, I was nervous for him to have to be away all day and nervous about how he would like school and the other kids and his teacher. It’s a huge change in his life. But I realized that it is also a huge change in my life. For almost 5 years, I’ve spent the majority of my time with Brady. He had some time in school and camp and I spent some time working, but for the most part, we’ve been together.

On his way.

The weeks ahead will be an adjustment for both us. After the first day, which was a half day, he told me that “kindergarten was great!” But later that night when we were laying in his bed he told me that he was “not too comfortable with this all-day thing.” Friday changed his mind on the all-day thing, but he did tell me that “school is a little boring.” I’m really hoping that will change since it’s like he plucked one of my biggest fears about him being in school right from my head and told me it was true.

School kid!

I’m at once excited and nervous for him to be starting this new phase of life. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with just one kid all day. I’m hoping school is interesting and challenging for Brady, and that he makes friends and isn’t bullied and does well. And yes, I’m getting ahead of myself a bit, but I can’t help it. My baby is out of my hands for 6 hours a day, 5 days a week doing things I know very little about. It’s slightly nerve-wracking.

Ready to learn…maybe…

2 responses

Leave a Reply

