Pumpkin Perspective

One of my most cherished childhood memories is of going to the pumpkin patch with my family; my father driving, the radio tuned to Myron Cope giving the Steelers game, the air crisp, and the sky bright blue. All I remember is picking out a pumpkin from the huge field, sitting on a hay bale with my sister as we were pulled around the farm by a tractor, drinking cider, and being so, so content and happy.

Of course this is a memory that I wanted to recreate with my own family. So we headed to the pumpkin patch yesterday. The air was a bit warmer than expected, but the sky was sunny and blue. Then there was traffic, lots of traffic, and whining and crying from the backseat to go with it. Then there was herding people to the hay ride, worrying that we’d run out of cash for pumpkins and candy apples and cider and donuts and pony rides, dealing with more whining over candy apples and cider and pony rides, and chasing a toddler through a field of pumpkins.

At the end of the day as we drove home, with the sky still blue and the sun slanting through the trees, I was just exhausted and wishing for sleep and there was still dinner to make and baths to give. I took tons of photos to remind me of the gorgeous day and how delighted my kids were by all of the fall fun. I’m hoping they only remember the sound of football games on the radio, picking pumpkins from the field, hay rides, and being happy with their family. And hopefully, one day when we can’t go to the pumpkin patch as a family any more, so will I.

Leave a Reply

