Hug Them Tighter

Today seems to be one of those “hug your kids a little tighter” days. This horrible, horrible story is stuck on my mind and the minds of all of my friends today, making us both appreciate that our kids are here with us and healthy, but also worry about each second they are out of our sight.

My heart breaks for this mother, both because she has lost two precious babies, and because she had to be the one to discover them. I’m not even sure why I chose to write about it. There is nothing I can do to change it. There is no real cautionary tale. I sort of want to say something about all of the media pointing out the job of the father, their luxury building, the fact that they live on the Upper West Side. Who cares? Does that matter at all. Should they suffer more adversity because they seem to have more money? But honestly, that isn’t really the point either.

I guess I just wanted to remind myself and everyone else to cherish their time with their little ones as much as possible. When the whining seems endless, when you have washed hands that have been playing in the toilet, when your frustration with homework has reached a peak, when you feel like you can’t cook one more meal or wash one more dish or pick up one more toy, when they just won’t go to sleep, use this to bring you back to that place of appreciation and love, at least for today.

One response

  1. I hadn’t heard about this devastating story until my husband came home today and shared it with me. I was so upset with him for telling me about it, I asked, “why would you think it necessary to share such a gruesome and depressing story with me?” His answer, “it’s been bothering me all day, and I needed to share it with someone.” Guess who is carrying it around now and hugging her children a little tighter.

Leave a Reply

