It’s a Post-Sandy World

Last night the husband and I were feeling underwhelmed by the storm. It seemed to pick up a bit as we put the kids to bed, but not much. After they were down I headed to a friend’s apartment in the building. As the wind howled and the power went out below 34th Street, we chatted and drank wine sitting on her dining room floor. After I got home, I could hear the storm like a freight train down our street as I drifted off to sleep.

When we woke up this morning it was obvious that the storm was more powerful than it sounded from our apartment. Trees were down all over the neighborhood. Branches, leaves, and other debris littered the streets and sidewalks. People were out everywhere to survey the damage, including us.

School is still closed tomorrow, as well as the husband’s office. I feel lucky that cabin fever is the only suffering I’ve had and I feel awful for all those who are suffering more.

One response

  1. I have been glued to the news, the phone, and the computer. I have such fond memories of the Jersey Shore and so many areas that are facing such devastation. I’ve had a heavy heart all day, but am glad my family and friends are all safe. You’re right. Cabin Fever is no big deal compared to what others are facing. Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

