Resolution Challenge

Image

First of all Happy New Year! 2013 has started out nicely in our house. While a lot of people have abandoned New Year’s Resolutions, I have decided to stick with them this year. I know that people say they are cliched, setting oneself up for failure, false promises, etc. I know that the new year is just a new day on the calendar like any other, a symbol that humans have created for a new start. But I say, why not challenge yourself to do something you’ve wanted to do? Why not allow yourself the freedom to say “I will try” without feeling as if you have failed if it doesn’t work out perfectly? Why not let January 1st, be a symbol of rebirth? It’s as good a day as any.

So this year I am making resolutions to remind myself that I can accomplish goals, that I can maintain the good things I’m doing, and that I can be more like the person I want to be. 

Much like the November ’30 Days of Thankfulness’, I’m doing a Resolution Challenge here on my blog. I think 31 days of resolutions is a bit too much, let’s not get crazy. So for the first 10 days of January, I will post one resolution a day and the reason that I’m making it. Most will probably not be your usual resolutions, but it’s a way to get me on track in the new year. January and February are usually dreary months for me, so maybe some goals will help me get through.

Anyway, here we go…

Resolution #1: I resolve to sweat more. I’ve already started with a trip to the gym this afternoon. As I’ve said before, I love working out. It makes me feel healthier physically and mentally. I like being stronger. I like the flow of endorphins. I like the time to myself. This past year I kept up with my Sunday yoga, but other than that my workouts were spotty. This year I want to run more regularly, fit in more days of lifting, and find more creative ways of getting in workouts.

Why don’t you join me? Post your resolutions as well. Since it’s late to get started today, stretch to the 11th or 12th. Comment here if you plan to resolve along with me.

 

4 responses

  1. I love this and will definitely join you! My first resolution is like yours and probably everyone else who feels like they’ve overindulged a bit over the holidays. I’m sweating to the oldies with you, running like forrest gump or lifting my spirits to a toner body…whatever you want to call it. 😉 Happy New Year to you my friend!

  2. Well I for one love cliches. They are quite useful. And I love old traditions–even resolution traditions. In the past, we’ve made them in the spirit of the new year–more for fun than out of any real desire to see them through. But this year we’re going to try a little harder. That’s why I have to make less not more. But I can’t wait to follow yours and see how it goes. Enjoy!

  3. Pingback: Resolution Challenge Review | Mom's-Eye View

Leave a Reply

