Resolution Challenge Day 6

Resolution #6: I resolve not to apologize for being me.

This is something I’ve been working on for, oh about my entire life. I have a habit of changing myself to meet the expectations of others. I do think that, to an extent, that kind of behavior is necessary to be a part of society. Obviously, you have to adhere to a certain type of behavior at school or work or at a mommy-and-me class.

What I’m talking about is the way that I’m always considering what other people will think of what I choose to wear, or the color I paint my nails, or the activities I choose to do with my children. All too often I let my ideas of how people will feel about what I do, or the comments that others make to me, change the choices I make. Even here on my blog, I often don’t write the thing that I most want to for fear of the reaction I’ll get. I think that it dampens the message I put across to others. As I read more and more of what other people put out into the world, I find that the blogs I like best are the ones that are brave and honest and unique. I need to write more of my brave words.

So my resolution today is to allow myself to be more of me, in what I choose to wear, in what I choose to do, and especially in what I choose to write.

One response

  1. Pingback: Resolution Challenge Review | Mom's-Eye View

Leave a Reply

