Resolution Challenge Day 9

full_trash_can_clip_art_7448

Resolution #9: I resolve to waste less.

I just wrote a very nice post and then WordPress trashed it!!!! So below is a shortened version cause I gots stuff to do. WordPress, I love you, but your futzing with the setup lately is KILLING me!

This is something I’ve been working on for awhile and I have gotten better. I mean this mostly concerning food, but wasted money is directly related so I’m talking about that as well. Until recently, we wasted a TON of food around here. But then I started composting at our local green market and was forced to look at all of the produce and break products I tossed each week. Since then I’ve been making an effort to use what we buy.

This year I plan to up that by making a menu each week, making a list for the grocery store of the things we need to cook that menu, and then sticking to it. This should help with food waste because we’ll be getting and using what we need, and it should help with financial waste because I’m hoping it will cut down on the “there’s nothing here to cook so let’s go out” scenario.

I don’t know if I’m quite ready to do Food Waste Fridays like The Frugal Girl. But maybe this year I’ll get there.

5 responses

  1. Here in Surrey in the UK we have a compost bin just for food waste which gets collected each week along with the garbage. I try very hard to make it as empty as possible. Those figures issued yesterday telling us that we throw away almost half of the food we buy was truly horrifying. I, too, have resolved to be better this year.

    • That’s amazing. I was so happy when they started bringing compost bins to our greenmarket. Living in the city it isn’t possible to compost my own. My goal this year is to be putting scraps into the bin, rather than food I haven’t used. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Resolution Challenge Review | Mom's-Eye View

Leave a Reply

