Damn You, Zooey Deschanel!

Image

From the Pantene Facebook page.

Damn you and your beautiful hair! The husband and I anxiously await each Tuesday night because Tuesday means a new episode of New Girl. We are addicted to New Girl. Why, you ask? Because it is the best show on television! 

We can’t get enough of that adorable Jessica Day and her roommates. Will she and Nick really get together? Would that be good? Why can’t Schmidt and Cece work it out? Why does Winston seem like the most normal person in the loft?

But after looking at Zoeey’s luscious, shiny, dark locks week after week, I decided that I just had to have my own. Unfortunately, I decided this right after cutting my hair to chin-length.

For most of my adult life I have had hair on the shorter side, although I’ve never gone much shorter than the chin. I grew it out for my wedding and that day was probably the closest I’ve come to Zoe’s long, voluminous waves. But I promptly cut it before leaving for the honeymoon. I grew it out during both of my pregnancies because my hair was simply luscious while I was pregnant. It was thick and even wavy, whereas normally it is very fine and fairly straight with some odd bends here and there.

I’ve always liked my hair on the shorter side. It’s easier to take care of, which is important when caring for two children and trying to work from home. I don’t need to blow dry it and it looks fairly styled if I do nothing but run a brush through it. But no more! I look around my yoga class each week at the ponytails and buns and headbands and I am envious. After about 5 months of growing I can finally get my mane into a tiny nub, just barely kept in place by an elastic. While I know that I most likely won’t ever attain Zoeey-caliber tresses, I’ve got hope. I can DO this! My hairstylist assures me it will eventually be long and we will make sure it’s in good shape. 

In the meantime I’m trying to eat healthy fats and lots of protein, not to use products or heat, and to be very, very patient as I will my hair to grow, grow, grow! Do you think she really uses Pantene? Maybe I should pick some up. Damn you, Zoe Deschanel, for making me want your gorgeous hair!

 

6 responses

  1. I can’t rock bangs (big fat face…), but I do love her luscious locks. My hair is long, but doesn’t look anything like this chica’s. And side note: does she resemble a Siberian Huskie, and I mean that in a nice way, or is it just me?

  2. Pingback: Project Optimism: The Ponytail! | Mom's-Eye View

Leave a Reply

