Project Optimism: The Hair

I actually had lots of fun, happy stuff to include in my post this week.

We did lots of swimming: with friends in our building, at the public pool with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law, at my friend’s house with her family. We went to the zoo and saw dinosaurs. We went hiking. Awesome stuff, right?

But I chose to write about the hair. I was looking at pictures on my phone today and I realized how many I have of Declan’s hair. Seriously. His hair is epic. He has refused to get a cut for the last, oh, six months or so. I am so happy he did that.

Declan’s hair has always been something to talk about. When he was born it was dark and fluffy.

IMG_0161

Then it got redder and very, um, floppy.

When he turned one, we cut it short.

IMG_1524

And now? Now it is just…breathtaking. I luxuriate in Declan’s hair. It’s calmed from a dark, reddish auburn, to a lighter, coppery, almost strawberry blonde. It morphed from fluffy, to floppy, to full-on curly. The summer weather and lack of a trim has left him with gorgeous, ginger-kissed ringlets all over the back of his head. I just can’t stop myself from snapping pictures of it all the time.

I just can’t get enough. I am in love…with my son’s hair!

Leave a Reply

