Postpartum Culture

I just had to reblog this from Moments of Exhilaration. It makes me feel so vindicated that other women feel the same way that I do and so frustrated at the state of postpartum care in the U.S. My favorite quote from the article.

One New York mother summed up her recent postpartum experience this way: “You’re not hemorrhaging? OK, peace, see you later.”

Exactly! This is my comment on her post.

I cannot begin to tell you how much I agree. I was just telling someone, when you are pregnant you are checked and checked and checked to make sure everything is ok. Then you give birth, are sewn back up (in many cases), and sent on your way with a “see you in six weeks.” Not only are you physically recovering, but you are suddenly responsible for another human being. Of course they check the baby at 2 days, 2 weeks, 1 month, etc. It’s not just difficult, but it sends a message to new mothers that they just don’t matter anymore once the baby is born. I had postpartum anxiety and depression after the birth of my first. I really and truly believe it was at least partly caused by this scenario. After my second was born, I had a wonderful support network of friends in my neighborhood who made sure I was taken care of, as I did for them after their second babies were born. It made all the difference in the world. Thanks so much for posting this.

Postpartum Culture.

via Postpartum Culture.

Leave a Reply

