Now We Are Six

IMG_3896

To be honest, I remember very little about that book other than that my mom was always sad for poor Christopher Robin because he spent all his time in the nursery with his nanny and rarely saw his parents.

But anyway, today we are six my Brady and me. He has reached school-age or middle childhood or whatever title you’d like to give it. It is a delineating mark used by many to show that a child has entered that time of being a real kid. Recently we were walking home from school with a friend of his. I was up ahead with Declan and Brady and his friend trailed behind talking and laughing. It struck me just how big he seemed, how much he has become himself. There are things about him that remind me he is still small and immature, but in many ways he is now very much in charge of what goes on in his life.

I had just over six years of adult life under my belt when my baby boy arrived. I was 22 years old when I graduated from college, moved to the city, and got my first real job. Six years later I was married and welcoming my first child. Like most people I had only a vague idea of what I was getting into. I was bewildered and thrown off guard and thrust into a brand new life that I had no idea how to adapt to.

And so we learned together. As he learned to sit up and crawl and walk, I learned how to help him just enough and to stop trying to anticipate each next move. As he learned his alphabet and colors, I learned to talk to new people and make playdates. He learned how to entertain himself and I learned how to fit in work and play and cooking and laundry and sometimes still have fun.

In the last six years my smooshy baby boy has managed to become a self-assured, focused, funny, passionate, and seriously smart child. In the last six years I have lost myself and rebuilt myself again many times. I have learned to let go of the parts I no longer need and to embrace most of the things I have become. I have realized that my family will always be a work in progress and that that is a beautiful thing.

When I was One,
I had just begun.
When I was Two,
I was nearly new.
When I was Three
I was hardly me.
When I was Four,
I was not much more.
When I was Five,
I was just alive.
But now I am Six,
I’m as clever as clever,
So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.

– A. A. Milne

5 responses

  1. Ditto…beautiful post. It’s amazing how much we change and learn right along with our babies. Happy birthday to your six year old! Made me sentimental because I’ll be in your shoes in a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

