A New Poem

I have not kept my promise of poetry. I think I set the bar too high with my little project. Sadly, my schedule did not allow time for form poetry this month. But I have a few days of National Poetry Month left and I intend to post a few. Not surprisingly, this one came to me in savasana.

The Corpse

Still.
Eyes closed softly,
Shoulders spread,
Back pressed against the floor.
Still, still, still.
Breath in.
Breath out.
Slack.
Smooth.
Gone.

I invite the Lord in.
My heart is afire;
Shot through with the Holy Spirit;
Filled with life,
Peace,
Longing.

The light in me sees the light in you.
In all of you.
All of you.

Om bolo shri
sat guru
bhagavan ki
Jai
Jai
Jai!

My prayer rises
On to the sky
Past me
To all the teachers
Past and present.

Jai!
And still…
Still.

9 responses

      • Yes! Moved here just under 3 years ago from the midwest. Left my career as a CFO to be a stay at home mom to my two boys and write. A lot of my blog is about the highs and lows as I’ve tried to figure this new way of life out!

Leave a Reply

