Yoga for Water

Although I was aware of the need for clean water in much of the world, it wasn’t a cause I had ever thought of getting involved in. Then, one of my favorite yoga instructors, the lovely and amazing Dayle Pivetta organized a yoga for charity event at the studio I belong to. I will be participating in a Yoga Mala this Friday night to raise money for charity:water.

Basically, a yoga mala is 108 sun salutations. You can learn a little more about it here. I was very intimidated and I’m still a little scared of 2 straight hours of Surya Namaskar. But Dayle convinced me by telling me that as she practiced it, she tried to think of the women in Africa who walk 8 hours a day just to bring clean water to their families. A very good point. If they can do that, I can do 2 hours of yoga. Plus it feels good to do good. I participated in a yoga charity event once before and I was astounded by how wonderful it felt to come together with other people to do something physical in the name of a good cause.

The charity:water website is very informative. It’s amazing the amount of suffering caused by the lack of something so essential to human existence. Something that most of us take completely for granted. Lack of clean water leads to a multitude of problems, most of which especially affect women and children. From water-borne disease, to the time and energy spent getting clean water, to the inability to keep hands clean, the lack of clean water is a huge burden on a significant portion of the world’s population.

Charity:water uses 100% of donations to fund water projects including building wells and filtration systems, building latrines, and teaching sanitation, freeing women and children to spend time in other important things, like fueling the local economy and getting an education and saving thousands of lives.

To donate to charity:water, please visit my page at http://my.charitywater.org/p/profile. It’s a wonderful cause, a wonderful event, and it would also mean a lot to me.

 

8 responses

  1. It’s a great cause – I’m glad to know about this organization. At my church (which is also my workplace) we’re partnering with a local Ethiopian coffeehouse owner to buy a drill that will be sent to Ethiopia to build wells wherever we can. It’s been exciting sharing the story with the children and families I work with, and seeing the lightbulb go on when they start to understand the hardship our friends across the globe face every day. We just finished presenting an AWESOME lesson on global water scarcity/abundance to each of 6 grade levels, and did the same activity for an adult event in January. We call our project Operation: Clean Water. Can you tell I’m a little fired up about this subject? Thanks for sharing your work with us readers! 🙂 – Amy

    • That is wonderful! I’m so happy that my instructor brought this issue to my attention and that I’ll be doing something to help. Buying a drill is AMAZING!

  2. We sometimes take water for granted because it is readily available. I know some parts in our country do not safe drinking water in their homes and have to travel (by foot!) to get some. It is kind of sad considering that it is already 2014. 😦

  3. Pingback: Yoga Mala – Finally | Mom's-Eye View

Leave a Reply

