Poetry Link Up with Feral Little Secret

Somehow I was turned on to Feral Little Secret, which runs weekly writing prompt link ups for which the winner is featured on the blog. This week’s prompt is poetry so I wanted to go ahead and join in. Here is my entry.

 

Mother of Sons

Boys
Tumble over me indiscriminately
Covering me in elbows and knees, fingers and toes,
Bruising my shins and scratching my chest with uncut fingernails.

They mess my bed and throw my clean clothes to the floor.

Boys
Smother me in kisses that taste of strawberry jam
And organic peanut butter,
Leaving sticky traces on my cheeks and chin.

They whisper, “I love you…one more minute,” into my ear at night.

Boys
Rip my book jackets, push cups of juice from tables, and pull
picture frames from the shelves as I shout,
Uselessly into the air of our house.

They write me books of their own and leave pictures on my pillow.

Boys
Fill my days with noise and worry my head through the night,
Ripping my heart and making it whole again
In the same sentence.

I am keeper of the castle,
Mother of kings.
I am center of the universe,
And focus of adoration.
I will push my love into them
And send them shining out into the world.

 

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

3 responses

  1. “Boys
    Rip my book jackets, push cups of juice from tables, and pull
    picture frames from the shelves as I shout,
    Uselessly into the air of our house.”

    This stanza really hit me. I love this. Absolutely fantastic piece. Thank you so very much for joining in this week!

Leave a Reply

