When I Think I Can’t…Yoga

I know that I’ve talked about it here a million times and I’m sure that people in my life are sick of hearing it, but yoga has changed my life in so many ways that it’s hard not to talk about it. Where once anxiety waited around every turn, preying on my weaknesses, telling me that I would never amount to anything and that each little task was a mountain to climb, I now have tools to keep it away and keep myself strong. Where I once saw the words “no,” “I can’t,” “never,” I now start to see “I can” and “I will.” Anxiety still lives down inside of me, sometimes bubbling up to take over, but now it is easier to push it back down and make it behave. Anxiety now lives largely in the background, leaving the rest to be filled with living life. Some of this is because I found a great psychiatrist. Some of it is because I’ve gotten older and more comfortable with myself. But a large part of the credit goes to yoga.

Because so much of my anxiety is centered around my body and health, yoga is an excellent counter to it. If I can control what my body does in so many ways, there is less room to find fault with it. Add a little meditation and breathing to interrupt those ruminations and yoga is the perfect recipe for my particular brand of anxiety.

I still find myself daunted by certain tasks, especially those that might interrupt the calm(ish) little life I’ve got going here. But it has come to a point where my life needs a shake-up. I need to push past the “I can’t” and into the “I will.” So again, I’m turning to yoga

7 years ago I couldn’t do this.

IMG_1703

5 years ago I couldn’t do this.

IMG_1710

1 year ago I couldn’t do this.

IMG_1807

If I can hold warrior II, balance on my arms, and freakin STAND on my HEAD, I can do anything right? At least, that’s what I tell myself when my mind is full of doubts. Yoga reminds me that I am strong, that I can overcome fear, and that I have control. With that on my side, the only thing left to do is to move forward.

9 responses

  1. Oh, WOW! What an inspiration!!!! I am a yoga challenged individual (I sometimes say novice), but do try! I’ve had physical challenges in my life (a stroke at 34 when my 4th child was born) and struggle with balance…but still I try. Your post has given me inspiration to keep on trying! YOU ARE AWESOME!

    • That makes me ridiculously happy. I never thought of myself as inspiring to anyone! I’m a crazy yoga advocate, although I do know it’s not really for everyone. But I do think anyone can benefit with the right instructor and maybe some modifications. Just remember, all you really need to do yoga is to show up and to breathe.

Leave a comment